top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlyssa Scarfato

Time

Freezing Time


Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s section entitled Art was a bit different than the rest of her book that I’ve read thus far.


This section included photographs and short descriptions of them, like what you would see on display at a museum or a pop-up art show.


One page really stuck out to me. She called this series of two photographs Freezing Time.


This really got me thinking- what if I had created ice cubes from significant or special moments of my own life? What would I freeze?


I've included some of my more significant life-events below:


Freezing Time: 05/08/2001

The Moment When I Found Out the New Baby Was Not Going to be a Sister After All

water taken from the styrofoam cup the nice nurse gave me when I wouldn’t stop crying in my mother’s ultrasound, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 12/23/2006

The First Time I Had Ever Tasted Caffeine (well, the first time I was explicitly “allowed to”)

Coke taken from the seafoam green glass in the Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater Restaurant (what a mouthful) in Disney World, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 07/04/2010

The First Time the Sister I Had Always Wished For Learned to Swim On Her Own

water taken from Raintree Country Club’s pool, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 08/12/2012

When I Woke Up Early Enough to Watch the Sunrise and Read the Wall Street Journal with my Grandpa

coffee taken from my favorite chipped mug, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 10/03/2015

When I Accidentally Drank the Beer that Belonged to the Elderly Gentleman Sitting Beside Me and I Spit It Back Into the Cup Without Him Ever Seeing (I’m really sorry about that, by the way)

beer taken from plastic Clemson cup, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 01/22/2016

The First Real Snow I Had Ever Seen Snow

snow taken from Stadium Parking Lot at Appalachian State University, placed in baggie, frozen in baggie


Freezing Time: 08/14/2017

The Time I Got to Scratch Off Number 3 On My Bucket List: Go To a John Mayer Concert

water taken from Aquafina water bottle I paid $8 for, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 05/31/2018

The First Time Puppy Beau Swam in the Ocean and We Couldn’t Get Him Out Because He Loved it So Much

saltwater taken from the ocean in Isle of Palms, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 11/28/2018

The Time My Mom and I Stayed Up Way Too Late Looking Through My Brother’s Phone When He Was Grounded

cabernet taken from our favorite stemless glasses, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


Freezing Time: 12/15/2018

“You Did It, Kid”: The First Sip of Champagne as a College Graduate

champagne taken from flute, placed in baggie, frozen in ice cube tray


I've attached a few photos from these "life events" too:


Please enjoy this video from John Mayer's concert:


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poetry

bottom of page